Behind the scenes: From Frame to the Final Image

Following on from last weeks post: Cropping Controversy, I have decided to make one post a week about the processes from shooting to the final image. As you will have read on my website, most of my photography contains basic editing (saturations/cropping etc) so with this in mind, I am going to open with a behind the scenes shot and explain to process to the final image of a cactus.

As you can see from the image shown below, it was important to me that the image wasn’t just a snapshot of a cactus, but a more creative one that showed its detail clearly. For this I had to be careful of both myself and more importantly the camera lens. Focusing proved tricky on a couple of occasions as I wanted to get so close to it, however after a few attempts, I had captured enough detail to work with.
Untitled
The next stage was to decide on the most focused of 4 images and having done so, select the  specific area I wanted through cropping it. I then completed the saturation/contrast process. This helped to bring the detail out further, while also enhancing the colours, making them closer to the real life cactus.
Screen Shot 2014-06-11 at 22.29.39  Screen Shot 2014-06-11 at 22.39.45 Screen Shot 2014-06-11 at 22.39.59
Selecting the crop                      Contrasts changed                     Saturation Levels changed
Finally, I checked the crop selection and pressed save. To view the final version of the image, click here.

Leave a Reply

