Every picture tells a story…… it’s up to you to decide what it is.

As I looked through a selection of images I have taken this year, I came across a folder called ‘Spares’. Feeling curious, I opened it and was surprised on two accounts. Firstly, there was only one image in there (obviously it was a folder that had got buried till now) and secondly, the image itself had at least three stories to tell. This in turn led me to recall my own story behind taking the image, which I will now share with you.

Back in June, I was sitting at St Pancras Station, and while waiting for a coffee I spotted what appeared to be a young couple running off the train. As they ran towards the exit, they jumped onto the ledge, struck a pose for a few seconds (giving me time to take the photo through the glass) and then left. It was strange situation in someways and still leaves me with some questions. Why were they running? Who were they with? Is the man using his phone-camera taking a photo of them? (possibly not judging by the angle). Who really knows?

The fact is that obviously I will never know the answers to these questions, but for me, that’s what makes the image. So with this in mind I encourage you to do the following next time you look at an image. Step back from it, take a second look and then see what stories you can come up with. Happy story-writing.

_MG_2835

Leave a Reply

