Dungeness Part One: (RSPB Nature Reserve)

After checking the forecast this morning, I decided today was the day to go to Dungeness – a place of desolation. This is an area I have been meaning to visit for about 18 months, but due to time constraints, there hasn’t been the chance. So, with the weather looking good I set out early and started the 1 1/2 hour journey hoping it would be worth it. Was it? Yes.

I decided to divide the day into two: Part one being at the Nature Reserve and part two being at the beach (featured in my next post). The nature reserve was a less than gentle introduction to environment that I would be shooting in for the first part of the day, and as I neared the car park, I continued to be taken aback by what I saw.

The fact is, there wasn’t a lot there – partly due to the time of year – but also there are essentially no trees or bushes and large shingle pretty much everywhere. Making an assessment of this, I realised that I would be shooting to capture the atmosphere of the surroundings and converting to black and white in post processing. Hopefully you will agree that I have achieved what I set out to do.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Dungeness Part One: (RSPB Nature Reserve)

  1. Pingback: Dungeness Part Two: (The Beach of Dereliction) | CADEPhotographic

  2. Pingback: Photographic Reflections (November) | CADEPhotographic

  3. Pingback: Focus on one thing and stick to it – Part 1 |

  4. Pingback: Birthday blog post | CADEPhotographic

Leave a Reply

