One flower. Many opportunities……

With flowers few and far between this time of year, it is always lovely when you get a chance to see some. This was the case yesterday and with my family’s Amaryllis in full bloom, it was definitely a photographic opportunity not to be missed. However, I would need to be a little creative to get the best out of it – a bog standard image of it just wouldn’t be good enough.

My plan was to try and give a sense of the overall scale of it by focusing on the stamens and using the petals to form a natural backdrop. (with it being in the lounge, the red curtains wouldn’t really work). By doing this it meant the I could see it from many different angles, creating many opportunities. After shooting, I decided that a couple would be better in black and white. In fact, I think the 4th image is my favourite – what do you think?

2 thoughts on “One flower. Many opportunities……

Leave a Reply

