Photographic Resolutions: Review Four

It would seem I am a few days late with Aprils’ review, however, seeing as it was so busy it is hardly surprising. Last month brought its own challenges and experiences as well as the blog and the website turning a year old. If you haven’t read those posts you can read them here. For the purpose of doing these reviews, I will not be mentioning my 50mm resolution any more as that is proving unachievable, however, the other two have been highly successful so lets have a look.

Resolution 2: Learn a little bit more about editing.

April saw me make a massive change to how I process my images and what format I shoot in to begin with. For as long as I can remember I have shot in JPEG and edited in iPhoto however, I am now shooting in RAW+JPEG and using Lightroom. Opting for the free trial, it was clear that I would be buying it straight away and what it made me wonder was how much could I have got out of older images – maybe I will try this at some point. What I really love about it are the ability to show highlights/shadows and alter it in a natural looking way and while I am sure that I am only looking at the tip of the iceberg, the rest of the software will be just as amazing.

Resolution 3: Work out where to go with my photography.

This one was a bit strange last month as the exhibition showed me that the way I see my own images has developed. A key example of this is the fact that I needed to supply 8 images in 4 different sizes (2 of which were square). Now, while this may not seem that much of a big deal, I never really crop square so I needed to look for what could work and choose carefully. Thankfully this didn’t take too long and in someways it helped. Maybe I will try a square format every now and again.

Leave a Reply

