Overcome by Kingfishers

Out of the many elements of nature that I have photographed, there are a few that I have on a wish list. This essentially means that I have a real urge to see them and photograph them. I was lucky enough to tick off one of these at the weekend – the Kingfisher.

I’m not sure if it’s the colours, the size or their behaviour but something has always appealed to me when I’ve seen photos of them, so when I heard about somewhere to see, them I had to pay a visit. The most recent visit was probably about my fifth so after four visits with no results it was wonderful to see not one but two. Overcome slightly in the moment, as were other photographers, it took me a few seconds to take the shot. Thankfully the kingfisher flew around landing a few times and then darted into its hole with a fish. Then just as I thought it couldn’t get any better, another came out. There was no way I was ready for that, however the image that I did get, is one that I feel sets a great standard for my future kingfisher images.

Now to see puffins……

Leave a Reply

