Essex Student Photographers Series: Introducing Kellie Brownlie

As with all these posts, the biography and images aim to give you an insight into the photographer behind the lens. Let me introduce you to Kellie Brownlie, (www.facebook.com/Kelliebrownliephotography) an Essex based photographer who has only been learning for a short while but in my view already has a good eye for what makes a great image.

My name is Kellie Brownlie and I am coming up to the BIG 4 0 this year. I am also a mother to 3 beautiful girls, and a step-mother to 5 handsome boys. However, amongst the hustle and bustle of my family life (which I love) my youngest daughter is now at full time school giving me a little free time to spend time doing some things just for me.

I have always been a creative person. I love to write and draw and have always liked taking pictures with whatever phone or camera I had. Photography has always appealed to me. I love the outdoors, love doing something different everyday, and like making people smile. I found photography lets me do all these things and more.

My husband brought me a Nikon d3300 not too many months ago and I have now got a few different lenses. So after reading a little online and watching a few Youtube tutorials/pro photographer videos, I took my camera out to see what I could do. From the minute I pressed the shutter, I was hooked. I couldn’t wait to get home and load the SD card into the computer to see what I had captured. You can’t beat the feeling when some-one says to you “ What a lovely picture”, or “That’s the best picture of him/her I’ve seen”.

I haven’t quite decided what I like to shoot best yet as I enjoy shooting wildlife, plant life, landscapes and portraiture. I do know however, that I like to keep the shots as natural as possible and therefore do as little re-touching as I can to get the result I want. This means I don’t spend hours on Photoshop.

You can see more of my work on facebook.com/Kelliebrownliephotography and lovelenslight.wordpress.com where I regularly share my work with friends and anyone who wants to follow my journey.

One thought on “Essex Student Photographers Series: Introducing Kellie Brownlie

  1. Pingback: Photographic Resolutions: Review Five | CADEPhotographic

Leave a Reply

