A Photographer’s Holiday

It’s funny how things have changed over the past couple of years. I used to go away on holiday and take hundreds, possibly thousands of photos and just upload them onto a computer with many of them never to be seen again. However, my recent holiday to the south-west (where the Red Arrows were), showed to me that not only do I take a lot fewer images, I consider them with my photographers eye. It would seem that long gone are the days of me taking holiday snaps and instead, I now create holiday images. So what has changed.

Firstly, I’ve realised that taking a considered shot is a much better option than taking lots of unconsidered ones. The three images below are pretty much straight out of camera, apart from a little bit of haze correction and in my opinion, the considered composition makes the images.

Secondly, I’ve learnt to step back from the camera at times and just enjoy what I am seeing and thirdly, I’ve learnt to take more care when editing to create the final holiday image.

When I get saw the images of Dartmouth Harbour when I uploaded them, I was a bit disappointed. However, by using my Lightroom skills, I could sympathetically bring back the wonderful array of colour I saw when visiting. I can’t remember a holiday in the past when I spend a decent amount of time doing that. I will in future.

It is highly possible that after reading this you may feel that my holiday switched from being a holiday where photos are taken to a holiday for taking photos, but you would be wrong. What it does instead, is help to create a clearer reminder of a holiday that a photographer went on.

So next time you get home with your holiday snaps, why not see if you can create your own holiday images.

One thought on “A Photographer’s Holiday

  1. Pingback: Photographic Resolutions: A round-up of 2015 | CADEPhotographic

Leave a Reply

