Photographic Resolutions: Review Eight

As the saying goes, 30 days have September, April, June and November. However, it appears I forgot that and missed the end of September. It is hardly surprising really as last month saw me start my new job but as things settle down, I will hopefully get the chance to blog more often. For now, here’s a quick round-up of my resolutions progress.

Resolution 2: Learn a little bit more about editing.

As I am sure you will have seen from my holiday blog posts, my editing skills have really come on in recent months and being able to edit my images correctly has meant getting the most out of my photos. I have also found some great shortcuts within Lightroom to help me post-process more quickly. For example, I didn’t realise that I could copy settings to other photos and then tweak what needs to be tweaked. This was great for the holiday as images taken in similar locations/weather could be grouped. I won’t go into the details, but it is safe to say that when you have a few hundred images to go through finding out I could do this, was brilliant.

Resolution 3: Work out where I want to go with my photography.

Due to work commitments I haven’t had much chance to focus on this one, but that doesn’t mean it’s stopped completely. Last month, I gave product photography a go for a friend who was selling on Amazon. This was a massive learning curve in getting lighting correct, bringing out the right details and processing them on site. Whilst I did enjoy it, I don’t see it becoming an area for me to focus on. Hopefully I can get back to the nature and events soon.

Leave a Reply

