Photographic Resolutions: A round-up of 2015

It’s very nearly the end of 2015, so what better time to look back at the overall progress I have made on my Photographic Resolutions. I have really enjoyed writing these posts and looking back to when I set these resolutions, I didn’t realise how much they would actually help my photography. However, by setting two main goals – one relating to editing and the other to my professional development – I have learned a lot as well as had some great opportunities. So, without further delay, here are my milestone moments from 2015.

Resolution 2: Learn a little bit more about editing.

  • Looking beyond the obvious when editing and taking a risk can really pay off. When I posted this image of the grebe back in February, I thought I may have gone a bit over the top on the colours, however, now I have looked at it again – I love it. In contrast, I feel this black and white tulip image is rather lack lustre and the black stamens a bit distracting.
  • Switching from iPhoto to Lightroom back in May was a major turning point in how I look at an image and process it and looking at older images it is clear to me that I wasn’t getting the full potential out of what I had taken. Quite a change from January where I wasn’t even sure about editing at all.
  • Creating additional colour can really bring an edge of creativity to photography when used in the correct way. I wouldn’t have seen myself even attempting the smoke image back in January – what a change.
  • Understanding that HDR isn’t always a bad thing was also a wake up call to me and whilst I haven’t used it since this post back in August, I’m sure that I will use it next year.
  • Spending time editing ‘holiday’ images can be a great way of honing editing skills and help to create clearer memories of where I went. See what I mean here and here.

Resolution 3: Work out where I want to go with my photography.

  • Streamlining the website back at the start of the year gave me an immediate focus, enabling me to think about just nature and events.
  • Officially photographed two events this year – one for birthday and one for a naming ceremony. In connection with this, I also had a request from a local paper to feature my images of their event.
  • Featured in a combined exhibition and set up my own exhibition space in a local cafe, featuring 8 of my favourite images. These images will be updated in the new year to reflect my development this year.
  • Entered competitions with my images in an effort to get my work seen further afield.

So there you have it, a round up of this year. All that remains is for me to thank you for following CADEPhotographic and may I wish you a very happy new year. See you in 2016.

 

2 thoughts on “Photographic Resolutions: A round-up of 2015

Leave a Reply

