Favourite Video Friday: An introduction to Tilt/Shift

Welcome to the first post in this fortnightly series where I will focus on a video I have found relating a photographic interest. This time, I will be taking a look at Tilt/Shift and as I found through my video search, there a few different ways of thinking about it.

The first way is through using a Tilt/Shift lens which works by moving (shifting) the main body of the lens horizontally and vertically to get more of a head on view. This is particularly good for buildings as it reduces the distorted look that can be give by other lenses. The other feature of the lens works by directing (tilting) the lens at an angle to the camera allowing you to focus on different elements. This is can be best showcased by the miniaturising effect that it gives. Thankfully, with Tilt/shift lenses costing anywhere between £600-£1500+, similar effects can be created in Lightroom and it is a tutorial video based on this that I will be talking about.

Which video and why did I choose it?
Having started to look through YouTube for videos based on Tilt/Shift, I then narrowed it down to a Lightroom specific tutorial. Interestingly, when you start to look around and compare videos, it becomes quite interesting seeing different takes on what makes a good tutorial. Some had really clear diagrams, some had really fast commentary, some only covered one aspect and some didn’t really have much content. This all made it very tricky to choose. However, after re-watching my shortlist of 5, I settled on Duncan Heathers Tutorial: Lightroom Tilt Shift Affect.

What I really liked about this video was that Lightroom specific terms were used (as you would expect) and there were good comparisons of how to go from original image to the final one. He also talked at length about the combination of techniques that could be used to create the tilt (miniaturisation) effect including how to apply graduated filters, use adjustment brushes, duplicate settings and how sharpness, saturation and cropping can really help to bring the effect to life. The only downside I could see with the video was that at just over five minutes I initially found the commentary a little fast. However, the clear descriptions and demonstrations given by Duncan, allowed me to pause and recap where needed. Like the example images above (taken from the video), you can see below how I applied these techniques to my image.

I really enjoyed the process of doing this and I hope that you have found this first post interesting and useful. Should you wish to try it yourself, you can view his video at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iEjUIpIjfc4.

Leave a Reply

