Favourite Video Friday: A Window into Street Photography

Having recently seen some great street shots on a photography forum, I thought it was the ideal time to get reacquainted with this style of photography. It is actually something that when I first started out, took a lot of but for some reason, over the past year I didn’t really take any. This made it the perfect choice for this weeks video.

Which video and why did I choose it?
Having started to look through YouTube for videos based on Street Photography, I found it tricky to work out which area to focus on. Did I want a tutorial? Did I want someone talking about their style? Did I just want some general tips? After watching a range of videos with commentary that seemed to detract from the advice or on location shoots with not too much happening, I came across a video by Dipayan Bhattacharjee called 30 tips in 30 photos.

What I really liked about this video was that unlike many of the others, this one had a great combination of advice and images without a tedious commentary. I also found myself re-looking at certain images (shown above), proving how powerful a street image can be. One thing that I was surprised by with this video though, were the comments that felt were quite harsh. I suppose it depends on what you are after, but to me some of his images were really thought-provoking.

Researching these videos has certainly given me the urge to get back out there and capture the streets again but for now though, here are 3 of my favorite images from a while back. I would love to hear your thoughts.

Should you wish to view this video, you can do so at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UPKrUftYggw

Leave a Reply

