Favourite Video Friday: Correcting Colours in Lightroom

It has been a while since I have needed to print a lot of images at once so with this in mind, I felt it best to do some research on colours and colour correction. This term can be best understood by the senario of bright images on screen but dull when printed. This is what I was finding after my initally prints. Thankfully though, there are lots of tips/tutorial videos out there making it the perfect subject for this post.

Which video and why did I choose it?
Having started to look through YouTube for videos based on print quality and colours, I realised that the issue may be due to a couple of reasons. This said though, one thing that kept cropping up was colour calibration. This term means to have an almost identical version of the image on screen as what your printer will do. Brilliant. This does however, generally have a cost involved so I looking for alternatives I came across a video by SLR Lounge called: The 5 rules of colour correction.

What I really liked about it was that the presenter spoke not only about the best ways to calibrate your screen but, also how the images would look different depending on if the screen is calibrated or not. Another point that also stood out was the ‘rule’ (advice) about the working environment. This is something that I had never thought of but bearing in mind that back of my computer faces a window and directly opposite is white wall, this could be having a big impact on how I see my images on screen. Thankfully though, as redesigning my office isn’t really an option, there was a ‘rule’ relating to workflow which was great to know and is probably the main one that I will take away from watching the video.

So, if, like me, you are having issues with either print colours or colour workflow, I suggest you take a look. At just over 6 minutes, it won’t take up much of your time, but it will probably save you some in the future.

To view this video, click here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HxOzLkhyHTc

One thought on “Favourite Video Friday: Correcting Colours in Lightroom

  1. Pingback: So that was February…… | CADEPhotographic

Leave a Reply

